Drinks With The Girls

Blog Bedlam for Our Delicious Readers

Celebrating 20 Years of Head Banging Music July 21, 2008

Filed under: humor,Life,Rummy — Rummy @ 6:45 pm
Tags: , ,

The other day I was driving to work jamming to Judas Priest’s love song “Ram it Down” when I had a flashback to 20 years earlier.  It was 1988 and I was sitting in my truck in a parking lot at work.  There was a fire alarm so a friend and I sat in my truck and jammed the same Judas Priest tunes.  Here I was 20 years later still driving a little truck (not the same one but I have had this one for 15 years so it’s close), still listening to the same music, still being silly and singing along to all the words…I should know all the words by now after all its been 20 years!  I was thinking of how little has changed.  I think I look about the same except the big hair is gone and I still dress very casual and sporty but now my jeans sit a little lower so as to show off my thong and not the granny panties I used to wear.  It is simply amazing how fast time goes by.  I feel fortunate to have kept some of my youthful traits along my journey in life especially with the many life challenges I have faced along the way.  I do think my silliness and ability to laugh at life have kept me young and I am proud of that. 
 
Then I thought a little harder and I realized how much had changed since 1988 just in a technology way.  I had a navigation system in my truck, I was listening to my music on an MP3 player and not a cassette tape, I had a cell phone and let’s not forget the minor things called computers and internet that may have affected our lives oh so slightly.  It’s amazing we were able to get by without all these gadgets but I do think they make life more interesting and easier.
 
Anyway, there is no real point to the blog.  I just wanted to share my flashback story and luckily it was not related to drugs since that would be the 70’s not the 80’s.  Take some time to reflect on your past and where you are now.  Would young you be proud of who you turned out to be?  Or do you look at young you and say “wow was I naïve and what the heck was I thinking wearing leg warmers in Florida”. 
 
Rummy “Class of 86” Runner

 

One Response to “Celebrating 20 Years of Head Banging Music”

  1. Cosmo Says:

    Rummy, great subject! Flashback, maybe that is a good DWTGs topic.

    Young me, would be very proud of Molly (my VW bug) & of my career. But disappointed I’m not married to Brad Pitt & not living in a multi-millon dollar mansion, but hey Brad Pitt is taken. And Jolie’s wrath is soo not worth it.

    Remember those clear Jelly shoes, ya know the ones that killed your feet because they were made out of the hardest plastic known to man? Well, they are coming back in style.


Leave a comment