Drinks With The Girls

Blog Bedlam for Our Delicious Readers

Family…err…vacation?? May 27, 2008

Okay….just went of a short five day vacation with my immediate family (baby bro, who just turned 20, my mother and our grandmother)….and boy was that ruff…oops, did I say ruff, I meant fun…uh… yeah…fun!  
Doesn’t this ever get easier?  
     
We did it for a good reason….by baby brother will be heading to Iraq soon and his activation starts in just a few days…and it was a chance for us all to spend a bit of time with him. Man, he just seems so young still! I guess some of that may change in the next year and a half…not to sure what I think of all that just yet.  

Anyway….love them all but I just feel to old to do family vacations anymore…it was just weird being stuck with them on an island, in a small cottage, beautiful setting…strange company.  

As much as I love my family, I just couldn’t help but feel like a caged animal through the whole thing. We are all sooo very different and are at such different places in our lives. It’s surprising that there were only two small arguments during the whole trip…yeah! and Sadly, I’m very happy about all this …had the trip been much (just another day or two) longer, I KNOW it would have been at least 3 times the amount of arguments! Thank GOD that it was a short trip, that was really all any ones schedules would allow on such short notice, phew!  

All I know is that I kept thinking…man if I were here with this person or that person…this place would be sooo great! There are so many cool little outing we could have gone on but we had Granny with us, and what’s night life to these people, oh I know…it’s a soft Pallow! My baby bro would do the night life thing, but he is still a year to  young for that….grrrr! And really financially wise, timing couldn’t be worse for me! And we all know it’s really  all about me…uh…okay…maybe not.  

Really though…now that I have gotten all that out of my system, It was really nice and we did all get some quality  time in together. I got some great bird photos for my mother (she is a big bird fan) and a few good memories with the kid brother. We did a little fishing together and thankfully he was the only one to ever catch a thing! Had he not, that could have started another little fight…God knows…I can’t hardly help myself with him…and I would had to rubbed it in big time, had I had all the catches or just the biggest;) Got to love siblings!!  

Well I off to help him pack…seems I know a bit about this deploying stuff…seeing I’ve done it a time or two 
before myself…weird thing is, he actually listens to me on this kind of thing and wants my help…huh…well 
guess we all have to grow up sometime…bummer. (That goes for the growing up part too;) )

Keep Safe and keep Living your dreams…!

Tini

 

What was he thinking!! I mean really??

All right guys…a quick little lesson on what not to do if you like someone. Oh and this can apply to us ladies too!

lets set the stage… there is this guy who is interested in Cosmo…and we have all been friends for a while… and she kinda thought about it for a second in the beginning…months ago. He is really a smart guy, some what, down to earth and an earth friendly kind of guy. He is not the extrovert that we are…but most people, let alone guys are… But he is usually genuine and fun…so far all good things …right.

Yeah, well, he kinda screwed that up in a hurry a couple of weeks ago… from my understanding…Cosmo feel free to correct me here if needed… he sent a e-mail saying that he would like to date you but… you seem and/ or you are to wild and crazy and that you should rain yourself in and gave ways to do so…and for what porpous.. would that be in order to date him?? Okay!?!

 In my mind this guy has no idea what he wants…and I mean NO clue what so ever!

She tried to very nicely put him off with a reply e-mail, but sadly, we all know how that usually works:(  So he wrote back a huge defencive and somewhat aggressive letter… What…like… are you going to force her to like you and then change her….uh…not likely…and of course not with our girl. She way to smart and cool for that. (We call her sassy for a reason…Hello!)

 And so the Big Don’t  here is…. 
  -Don’t start with pointing out flaws…or things that she could/should change…if you feel this   way…ask yourself first– Do I really like her… If so, then…Why do I want her to change? If you   have to ask yourself this Question…You probably just like the “Idea” of that person…or having (controlling… Yeah…that’s right I said it!!) that person- and do not actually want that person… for if you wanted them you would like them just the way they are and for who they are! If this sounds like it could be you- it maybe time to reevaluate yourself and what it is you think you may want….just a thought!

 

 Keep Safe and keep Living large…!

Tini

 

The Dirty Underworld of LUST

Filed under: humor,Life,Rummy — Rummy @ 8:48 am

Today we are going to talk about LUST.  LUST is dirty!  LUST is bad!  Now before you think I’m preaching to you, let me clarify what LUST is.  It’s an acronym for Leaking Underground Storage Tanks and it’s what I do in my day job.  I’m amazed at all the ways my coworkers and I have managed to make the seemingly dull world of underground petroleum cleanup silly and fun.  My favorite is the site names that I have.  Most sites are just named after the gas station where the spill occurred but somehow, as the only female engineer, I managed to get all the sites that seem to have a phallic reference….Mr. Dong’s Diner, Big Man Restaurant, Long fellow Supplies, Rod’s Imports and BJ’s Emporium.  Suddenly I hear Beavis and Butthead in the background laughing…”ha ha she said BJ’s”…no wait that’s just me.  I’d describe our attempts at work humor more but as an outsider you probably wouldn’t be too impressed so suffice to say that it makes the job more fun and its good team building to laugh together.  I suppose if we can do this with the seemingly dull world of petroleum cleanup than you can do it with your job too.   So start making the most of each day and laughing with your coworkers.  No matter what you do I’m sure you can find humor in it somewhere! 

Rummy “I LUST My Job” Runner